Take five.

Or ten. Or a month? I’m not sure, but I know I need to take a break.

This babe in my belly is wiping me out. I’ve never had nausea like this – I’m amazed I haven’t gained twelve pounds already, since I’m eating around the clock to keep this so-called “morning” sickness at bay. I’m exhausted beyond all reason, napping every day while Smooch naps, falling into my bed minutes after we lay him down at night (yesterday that translated to 6:15 p.m., whereupon I slept for twelve hours). And still, even with all this extra sleep, the little tasks of my day feel insurmountable and impossible.

So I’m not blogging. Hell, I’m barely logging any time at my computer for anything – I’ve checked my email twice in the last two weeks. I’m also not reading, not gathering any interesting tidbits to write about. I’m hardly thinking at this point. Since I was faltering, blogging sporadically-at-best for the weeks before this pregnancy announced itself in my body and my mind, it makes sense that it’s only gotten worse.

I’m taking a break. Lord knows I love you people, and I’ll be back – I could never leave completely. With any luck, I’ll start getting some normal level of energy back soon, so I’ll be able to visit and comment at all the blogs I love and eventually resume chattering away here. See you soon, dearies.

Postscript – thanks for the wonderful comments on my last post. Gruff won’t admit it, but it’s a direct result of reading your words that our cats are still here in our home as I type. At the moment, we’ve worked out a truce, wherein the little feline friends are mainly hanging out in our garage and on our back (shaded) deck, with short trips inside for cuddles and petting and supervision. We’ve got plans to visit the vet later this week (thank goodness for Gruff’s week off, so that I don’t have to haul two 15-pound cats in their carriers along with a 33-pound toddler and a gravid belly of my own to the office solo!) and for now, it seems that we’ve found a way to keep our purr-babies in our lives while maintaining our sanity (and our home’s cleanliness).

3 Responses to Take five.

  1. Kirsetin says:

    One of the best parts of “morning sickness” is that “this, too, shall pass.” Hang in there, take care of yourself, and we’ll be here when you’re feeling better!

  2. twithhoney says:

    So glad you and Gruff were able to find a compromise over the kitties.

    And I promise to keep your feed in my reader and stop by for as little or often as you find the energy to post something. *hugs*

  3. Hoping you feel better soon.
    I had all day sickness with all of my pregnancies. To the point where functioning day to day was almost impossible. I know how miserable it can be.
    Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

