Southern Breakfast, Midwest Snack (or, Bloggy Giveaway #3)

This giveaway is now closed. Thanks!

PhotobucketWell, hi again! I’m guessing that you’re here for the carnival. If this is your first visit, I’ve got a couple of other giveaways up from earlier this week – scroll down to check them out. During the last Carnival, the bloggy giveaway fairies must have sprinkled me with winner dust, because I won a bunch of prizes. This time around, I figured that I’d create a few of my own packages –each one telling a little bit about me– and pay the giveaway fun forward.

Right now, my family lives in the Midwest. We’ve been here almost a year, and I have to say I’ve been surprised by just how much I love it, how quickly it’s started to feel like home. Before this, other than a brief stint in South Florida for my husband’s medical school, I’ve always lived in the south. My grandmother is the consummate Southern lady – her speech is genteel, her personality is sweet and gracious, and her cooking takes your breath away. Her specialty is an astonishing breakfast buffet, a spread that my brother dreamed about during our long months between visits. A few weeks ago, when my brother visited me here at my new house, I had the immense pleasure of whipping up a big breakfast of my own for our two families. Something deep inside me felt like I’d completed another full circle – from being a kid who clamored for my grandmama’s family breakfast, to being a real grown-up and making those same memories for my son and nephew – and I realized that for me, a lot of family memories are connected to family meals.

So that brings me to the subject of this giveaway package. A little taste of home, from me to you! Your makings for a delicious Southern breakfast include: biscuit mix (no, it’s not the same as grandmama’s recipe, but it’ll do in a pinch), gravy mix (because what’s a biscuit without the gravy?), and coffee (because I truly believe that no good morning begins without coffee). Good additions to this breakfast would be bacon or sausage, fried or scrambled eggs, sliced tomatoes, or fried chicken, but since I can’t figure out how to put those in the mail, you’re on your own there. And then, in a nod to my new home, a little Midwestern snack. Did you know that you can make your own microwave popcorn without buying those little pre-packaged bags? I’ll send you popcorn kernels and six lunch bags, along with a few seasoning suggestions from local friends.

This giveaway is open to anyone with a US mailing address. Just leave a comment on this post by Friday, April 25th telling me where you’re from (just the general region is fine!) and your favorite regional delicacy. Make sure to enter your email address in the little box (it will NOT appear on my blog; I will not put you on any mailing lists, I swear!) so I can get in touch with you if you win! I’ll use a random number generator to draw a winning comment on Monday, April 28th, and post the winners here after emailing them.

Writing this post has made me hungry, so I’m off to whip up a little snack. (Just what my waistline needs, right?)

63 Responses to Southern Breakfast, Midwest Snack (or, Bloggy Giveaway #3)

  1. Shane says:

    I live in Virginia and we love some good ole pinto beans, cornbread, fried potatoes and kraut and weiners for supper. Yummy!

  2. amanda says:

    well i’m from indiana…and to be honest, i’m not sure there is a regional delicacy around here….CORN!

  3. I am from Florida, I was born in the panhandle but grew up in Orlando. I don’t think there are any delicacies that originated in Orlando… well maybe gator tail, I think it is okay. I live in Maryland now and I love, love, love the crab cakes!

  4. Melissa says:

    Well, I’m from Michigan. I’d have to say that during the summer months, we are big on cherries around here! I can’t wait for fresh cherries to make cherry jam!

  5. Niki says:

    cool giveaway!

    i’m from philly originally but have since stepped over the bridge to nj

    can’t live without cheesesteaks or soft pretzels!!!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    ndisilvio at gmail dot com

  6. Rebecca says:

    I am from Alabama and one of my favorite regional dishes is collard greens and black-eyed peas with cornbread. I love to dunk the bread in the pot liquor. OOOOH! Yummmy!

  7. Michelle says:

    Well, I am currently living in New England, but I am really from Saskatchean in Canada. One of the regional dishes from Canada is Nanaimo Bars, a type of triple-layered brownie. They are ohhhh so good.

  8. charmed says:

    My favorite “local” food is pulled pork bbq. I LOVE some bbq! I live in NC, not really known for their bbq, but we have some great stuf here.

  9. Tammy says:

    Well I am a transplanted Canadian living in the Northern Plains of the U.S. now. — My favorite regional treat from Canada are Crunchie Bars – they are candy bars made of sponge toffee enrobed in Milk Chocolate, the ultimate sugar fix that leaves your teeth cemented together from the sticky goodness.

  10. kristen says:

    I live in New England and we are known for our seafood. But do I love that? Yuck! No. I love Del’s frozen lemonade. You know summer’s here when the Del’s stands open!

  11. Bodhi's Mom says:

    I am a california girl living in kansas and though it may not be a regional delicacy I love the fried pickles that I found since I moved here.

  12. Elizabeth says:

    I am currently living in Georgia and I love grits…
    Thanks for this opportunity,
    Elizabeth
    zizziehappenings.blogspot.com

  13. EG says:

    I’m from Virginia and my favorite discovery here is green beans cooked for hours (days?) with pork. Oh yum.

  14. Kimberly says:

    I’m in NY… and Brooklyn has THE BEST Pizza!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. sara l. says:

    I’m from South Georgia and we love our fried chicken and homemade biscuits around here! Thanks for such a yummy giveaway!

  16. Lydia says:

    Count me in please! I live in the South and love fried pickles. Mmmm!

  17. Betsy says:

    I am from Indiana and my favorite thing to eat is sweet corn on the cob!

  18. Tam says:

    Wow I am from VA but now live in GA….hmmm here I have found that I really enjoy A low country Boil…this is shrimp, sausage, potatoes, corn all boiled in a large pot. It has to grow on you but it is very good. I truly think the Low country Boils here in GA are amazing and everyone needs to try it at least once. They just pour it out on the table for and you pick from the pile…it is so cool

  19. Julie says:

    I’m from California, but I live in New Mexico. I don’t eat the regional specialities: green chilis.

  20. Gigi says:

    Yum! I live in Maryland now, so I would be shot if I didn’t say that my favorite regional delicacy is crabs!

    Thank you!

  21. I would love this. I cook alot, but it would be nice to have it all in a box, because I shop too much ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am from Texas, and I LOVE fried pickles. I miss how they taste in Texas, something in the batter. I’m in Colorado now, and I love the buffalo meat here. Tasty!!!

  22. Steph says:

    I am from Northern Minnesota. One of my favorite things is Sven & Ole’s pizza.

  23. Stacy says:

    Sound yummy. I’m a midwesterner who’s been transplanted to Arizona

  24. Ronnica says:

    I’ve had the backward journey from you. I did live in Kansas, now I live in North Carolina. I’ve been trying to think of a regional snack, but all I can think of is Sonic. People do NOT appreciate Sonic here. It is THE place to go for drinks. Another possibility is REAL BBQ not the pork soaked in vinegar they serve here. I want BEEF.

  25. char says:

    I live in southern Indiana.my family loves a meal of fresh corn on the cob, fresh green beans and potatoes , good ol’ Indiana tomatoesand of course hot home made bread.
    char

  26. dotti says:

    I live in Nebraska. Our fave meal is steak, corn on the cob, salad, bisquits and home grown watermelon for desert

  27. Jenna says:

    I now live in South Central CO and the delicacy around here is green chile… everyone has a way of making it and apparently some recipes are highly prized and secret! I love the margaritas that generally go with the chile!

  28. denise says:

    I live in Indiana with lots of corn! (There is more than corn in Indiana!) We love apples from our local orchard. Thanks!

  29. Coralie says:

    Here in Georgia, my favorite for breakfast is sausage patty biscuits and gravy. Grits, of course, are another specialty, but one of the few my taste buds haven’t embraced here.

    In Northern BC Canada, where I grew up, breakfast sausage is those nasty tiny pork links. Ick. But what IS great there is bear sausage, from a fine fall bear that has been eating mostly berries and grubs, and no fish or garbage. Fantastic!

  30. bren j. says:

    I’m originally from the Prairies in Canada (transplanted in New England at the moment) and my absolute favourite local delicacy from home is Farmer’s Sausage. Cheap imitations abound but nothing beats the real thing. This is a neat prize by the way. Thanks for the giveaway!

  31. christel says:

    Mmmm! Biscuits and gravy sound good.

    I’m originally from Hawaii and a favorite Hawaiian delicacy would be Kalua Pig and Lomi Salmon. Kalua Pig is shredded pork that was cooked in the ground called an “Imu”, and Lomi Salmon is cubed salmon mixed with tomatoes, onions, and green onions with the right amount of Hawaiian sea salt. It’s making me hungry just thinking about it.

  32. Lesha says:

    I live in Indiana and I love corn on the cob.

  33. Michelle says:

    my husband loves biscuit and gravy! We’re in NM and my favorite thing in our area are the pistachios that are locally grown and flavored.

  34. Terra Heck says:

    I’m from the Midwest as well, so I can relate. Hog roasts, fish fries, and pancake & sausage suppers are popular in my area.

  35. Elaine says:

    I live in Chicagoland, and I really don’t like pizza, but LOVE our deep dish!

  36. I love NC BBQ…it is different here than anywhere else. It’s the best! And hushpuppies to go with it. Enter me please! What a creative give-away.

    efuson_2000@yahoo.com

  37. Shelly says:

    Yummy giveaway! I just moved away from Texas and really miss kolaches. Have not found an Arizona favorite yet.

  38. Audrey says:

    I’m from Santa Barbara. I love sushi…you can find it in almost every grocery store, restaurant etc. Great blog post. I’m audreyoka at cox.net

  39. CanCan says:

    I’m from the South, and I love fried okra and fried green tomatoes.

  40. dh says:

    I’m in Ohio. Deviled eggs are big at family gatherings. I didn’t realize that we never had them growing up in the East until I made them when I was visiting my sister in NY one time. That and Buckeyes. My sister made peanut butter balls covered in chocolate. My daughter saw them and said, oh, you made buckeyes (Ohio is the buckeye state). My one sister-in-law thought it referred to a buck’s eyes, but we told her it was based on the nut that falls from the buckeye trees… which happen to look like a bucks eyes, maybe.

  41. Fried potatoes, chili, and cornbread. I’m from Oklahoma.

  42. Josie says:

    I’m from the Midwest too. I love popcorn

  43. meddlingkidd says:

    I’m from New York and my favorite regional food would have to be White Castle Burgers…I don’t live in the city anymore but every once in a while I get a craving for one and I have to head down to get one!

  44. Sarah Fischer says:

    I’m from central Illinois. Sometimes called the heart of Illinois. Here people cook out alot. Hambugers, hotdogs, bbq pork. And if ya go to a cook out you’ll probally find potatoe salad.

    Sarah
    Bloominwild89@yahoo.com

  45. Betsy says:

    I am from Kansas City and we have the greatest BBQ!!! Thanks for such a tasty giveaway!

  46. jonamie says:

    I’m from the Northwest and I love the delicious coffee up here and pastries…and warm soup mmmm

  47. Sarah A. says:

    I live in Texas and we are all about meat and fried okra.

  48. katklaw777 says:

    I live in Illinois, bout 40mi south of Chicago. Farm country. corn on the cob, still kicking and buttery hot.

  49. Veronica says:

    I don’t have a US mailing addy, so don’t enter me. I actually came over from your comment on my giveaway about TTC baby #2!

    Off to look at your archives.

  50. Ashley BB says:

    Hey from Tampa Bay, FL. My favorite food around here is a Cuban Sandwich! Yummy!

  51. P Hafner says:

    I’m originally from East Tn but live in Tidewater Area of Va now. I love fried okra with fried green tomatoes.

  52. moss says:

    Kentucky! And I love sweet tea and cheese grits.

  53. princessesindisguise says:

    I’m from South Florida where a favorite dish is black beans and rice! Love it!

  54. Krista says:

    I’m from Washington, and I guess our regional specialties are Starbucks and microbrews… but I don’t like either! My all time favorite foods that I can’t get are from Costa Rica, – tico cheese (fried, but it doesn’t melt) and Yuca chips, yum!

  55. holly says:

    I live in Ohio. I love Michigan apples. SOOO good! cookiecutter72 AT hotmail dot com

  56. Ginny says:

    I’m from Michigan, great lakes. I’m not a big eater, so my favorite is pizza. I’ve always wanted to try microwaving popcorn in the brown bag. It looks pretty easy.

  57. EMama says:

    I grew up in California, but I live in North Carolina now, and I love bbq & hushpuppies.

  58. Jessica says:

    I’m from northwest North Carolina, at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Around here, everyone eats really southern food – fried chicken, mashed potatoes, all sorts of casseroles, greens, biscuits, blackeyed peas, chicken n’dumplins, and all that good stuff. One thing we have around here are sonkers, which are the same as deep dish pies, but here they call them sonkers. In fact, the Sonker Festival is held each year at the Edwards Franklin House in Surry County. There is always bluegrass music, and plenty of sonkers of many different kinds – sweet potato, peach, strawberry, blackberry, blueberry, apple, and a few suprises every now and then!

  59. Kelsey says:

    Northwest here and id have to say health bars!

  60. Rita A. says:

    I am in Southern California. My favorite dish currently is Fish tacos. SO many places make them and they all are different. Very tasty.

  61. Chrysa says:

    I live in Minnesota, so I guess “hotdish” is our regional delicacy. Thanks for the giveaway!

  62. Jessica says:

    i live in wisconsin, so it has to be bratwurst!

  63. Kim says:

    Let’s see…I’m currently living here in Arlington TX, but we’ve only been here since last September. Before that we spent 8 months in Louisiana, which wasn’t that great, before that we were in Springfield, MO, which really is home, before that we were in Nashville TN, and then….well I could go on and on.

    As far as a regional dish? We love mexican and have found some great mexican joints here in TX. But I really haven’t had time to find a regional dish here.

    What a wonderful giveaway you are doing here.

    Have fun with your giveaway. Don’t forget to head on over to my blog and enter mine!

