Scrap Happy (or, Bloggy Giveaway #1)

This giveaway is now closed. Thanks!

PhotobucketWelcome, Bloggy Carnival-goers! If this is your first time here, I hope you’ll take a little look around Fizzledink. It’s nothing special, but it feels like home to me.

After my great & amazing fortune in the last carnival, I decided it would only be appropriate Bloggy Karma to do multiple giveaways here myself this time. So go ahead – bookmark me and come back over the next few days so you won’t miss anything! Each giveaway is something that I think tells a little bit about me, or something I really love. So the little bonus is that you get to know dear old Fizzy just a little bit better!

First up? Here’s a tidbit for you: I started obsessively taking pictures in 8th grade, and then took a “real” photography class in high school. Originally, I scrapped on 8.5×11 papers that I slid into school-report-style page protectors. *giggle* I’ve come a long way, baby! I have enormous, stuffed-full albums from high school through college. Along the way, I switched to using Creative Memories albums, and right now I’m in the process of retroactively re-scrapping my old albums. As any busy mom can tell you, it’s a lot harder to find the time & space for this hobby now that a toddler’s around… but it’s also more important to me than ever to have our photos and stories documented for Smooch, and it’s also become one way I de-stress when I just need some quiet time all to myself. I just can’t shake this idea that it’s incredibly important for me to keep our family history, because if something ever happened to me or my husband I’d want our children to know as much about us as possible. (I know, that sounds a little morbid, but it actually makes me feel happy when I think about it, not morose or depressed.)

Which brings me to my first giveaway – a great little package of scrapbooking goodies. I’ll be honest, these are things that I’ve had around for a while and don’t find myself using. I just recently started a small business with these products, and I am SO in love with CM stuff that these little things have fallen by the wayside. If you’re not as exclusively minded, though, you’ll love it!

A package of loose paper with titles & slogans, “LMNOP” – a book of decorative lettering, two templates (one shapes, one lines for journaling), a set of looseleaf layout and album idea pages, “99 Best Secrets for Scrapbook Success” – a book of scrapbook tips & tricks, and five packages of spring embellishments (flowers, butterflies, etc).

Disclaimer: I may actually add a few things to this package before it goes out in the mail to you, if I find anything else in my craft room between now and then! 🙂

This giveaway is open to anyone with a US mailing address. Just leave a comment on this post telling me either: the motivation behind your love for scrapbooking, OR describe an album you are working on or have completed, OR one reason you think scrapbooking’s not for you. Make sure to enter your email address in the little box (it will NOT appear on my blog; I will not put you on any mailing lists, I swear!) so I can get in touch with you if you win! I’ll use a random number generator to draw a winning comment on Monday, April 28th, and post the winners here after emailing them.

Happy Carnival-ing, and I hope to see you again!

98 Responses to Scrap Happy (or, Bloggy Giveaway #1)

  1. Lesha says:

    I’m thinking about creating a travel scrapbook – places I have been to. 🙂

  2. julie says:

    love to scrapbook with my tween ….we talk about everything when we do this together

  3. Kimberly says:

    First of all I share your love of photography!!!

    I have wanted to scrapbook for YEARS now. I have doodled a bit with digital scrapbooks but that doesn’t help me with all the older non-digital pictures we have piling up. LOL! I would LOVE to organize my special memories so I can share them with our family instead of handing them a shoebox of photos that cover the past 10+ years and in no special order.

  4. Heather says:

    I have albums started for each of my kids (except the one in my belly) so I guess I’m going to have to start on one for the Munchkin. Plus I decided that after the first year, I’ll just do one “family” album instead of individual kid albums!

  5. I’m thinking about creating a travel scrapbook .

  6. Cristina says:

    I started scrapping about a year ago and I AM LOVING IT! This would be so much fun to win!

  7. Hello — I just started scrapbooking not that long ago. I am adding to an 8 x 8 album for my son. He scraps too and loves to do Make and Takes at the shop so he has done a few pages himself. SB supplies are just what we need!

  8. bunthorne says:

    I am working on baby books for both my children. It is a little hard because they get into my stuff so I can’t do it very often.

  9. Bodhi's Mom says:

    I would love to finally start my scrapbook about my 3 month old, but who knows when I will get to it.

  10. Coralie says:

    I thought scrapbooking wasn’t for me because I had only encountered those “scrap booking nazis” who believed if a page wasn’t laid out THEIR way with THEIR style it was ALL WRONG AND PROBABLY OFFENDED GOD AND YOUR GRANDMA. Well, maybe I over state it.

    Anyway, my sister and I did a little mini scrapbook for my parents on their 60 and 65th birthdays and I was hooked. I came home from our visit to celebrate said birthdays and in three days did a complete album of the trip. I’ve been a little obsessive ever since.

  11. Dani says:

    I love to scrapbook about my kids. Since I’m about to have my THIRD I need new scrapbook supplies!

  12. threeofakindblog says:

    My motivation is my children, of course!

  13. Fresh Girl says:

    You can never have too much scrapbooking stuff! Right now I’m in the planning stages for a scrapbook for a good friend who is turning 60 years old in June. She started out as one of my college professors and over the years has become a good friend. I want it to be a special scrapbook because she’s special! 🙂

    My email is: anewandafresh (at) gmail (dot) com

  14. Smellyann says:

    Right now I am trying to finish up my 2007 album. I scrap chronologically. Then I’ll work on 2008. I also do a separate book for our vacations. Thanks, I’d LOVE to win this!

  15. Richelle F says:

    I love to scrapbook-mostly the reasons you stated-to preserve memories, for me and my child. and because I like the creative outlet.

  16. Noreen says:

    I love going back and seeing how my girls have changed and capturing how they are right now

  17. Shannon says:

    I love scrapbooking because every thing my son does means the world to me.
    He is a preemie and a true blessing.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    Enter me please.
    palmersf(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  18. Kim says:

    I think scrapbooking will be a great ministry tool when we move to South America. A fun activity for the ladies I’ll be getting to know!

  19. Annette says:

    I need this for my niece she is just starting scrapping and she would love this. I would love it too as it gives us time together
    Thanks
    auntnetto6@yahoo.com

  20. NicoleZD says:

    My current album is a work in progress — I picked it because it says “Once upon a time” on the cover, and “happily ever after” on the back. My goal is just to keep adding pages until it’s full! So far, it starts at my last birthday (almost a year ago) and covers family events, trips, and holidays.

    fiordpiner [at] yahoo [dot] com

  21. Tami says:

    I am new to scrapbooking. I’m not sure how to get started, but I want to scrapbook some funny and cute things my kiddos have said or done. I also, want to scrapbook some of their school memories.

  22. Sally says:

    I have kept scrapbooks many years before they became popular, but I do not have any materials as I use whatever is handy.
    In July, I will celebrate my 50th anniversary and would use my “winnings” to help create a SPECIAL GOLDEN scrapbook!
    Thank you for the opportunity.

  23. Kelsey says:

    I am working on an album for my Compassion child who I get to meet next year!

  24. Kait says:

    I Scrap Book because I love for looking back on good memories. I like to scrap book the good times, so I have something to smile at when the bad times come.

    Kait

  25. Courtney says:

    I love scrapbooking! I am still working on my wedding album and just celebrated our 6 year anniversary!

    courtneyhunt71 (at) aol (dot) com

  26. Debra Ford says:

    Right now I’m working on a scrapbook for my friend for her son’s birthday party we went to. It was a great party and I hope this will be something she cherishes.

    Great giveaway. Thanks so much for your generosity!

    fairydancer40[at]yahoo[dot]com

  27. Geri says:

    Great Blog!!!! Great Giveaway!!!!
    gerjones64(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Thanks!

    I am the RECORDS keeper for my family.

  28. cathy m says:

    I am about 10 years behind in my kids scrapbooking project and am always looking for new ideas.

  29. Elaine says:

    I would love to win this. Thanks for the chance!

  30. Kyra says:

    I started a scrapbook when my son was born. I’m currently months behind but I want to catch up so he’ll have this when he has his own children.

  31. Lindley says:

    I am currently working on a California vacation album and am hoping to catch up with all my photos soon! Thanks!

  32. Liz says:

    I would love to win! I am a CM consultant and can never have enough supplies! Come visit for my giveaway! I am currently working on a book for my little boy! I have a very full album for the first 3 months and he is 20 months old! I have a ways to go!

  33. Tessa says:

    I like to scrapbook to record my family as we get older.

    -Tessa

  34. acupofjoy says:

    I’ve got a US address! Hooray! I do enjoy scrapbooking, but haven’t had the time lately. Winning this would truly motivate me!

    dbstout[at]juno[dot]com

    Hey, don’t forget my giveaways!

    comfortjoydesigns.blogspot.com

    acupofjoy.wordpress.com

    thechocolistas.blogspot.com

  35. Kirsta says:

    How fun! I actually have the LMNOP book and LOVE it! I have the other 2 as well! I get raves about my writing and use it for all kinds of things. I think I have the Parrothead style memorized!
    I’m currently working on my scrapbook from the year 2002… can I get a little inspiration here to keep going? 🙂

  36. Caroline says:

    I am 10 years old and I have recently started scrapbooking. I enjoy it a lot and I think it would be fun to have more supplies!

  37. Casey says:

    Motivation: my daughter. I do have to say that I told myself I wasn’t going to do a scrapbook for her b/c I knew I would be behind (which I am about 8 months) and I thought if we have more kids I’ll never finish hers….but we were told we were having a boy and when we went to the hospital and this little girl came out we were very surprised!! How could you not want to scrapbook about that. I thought of a great scrapbook page for that and made it and I knew than that I was going to make her a scrapbook!

  38. amanda says:

    i am soooooo far behind on scrapping for my 8 month old daughther….so free goodies would be such motivation and inspiration!

  39. Julie says:

    I like to scrapbook, but I have a horrible confession to make……I have scrapbooked all the way up to my daughter’s arrival home from the hospital when she was born. This wouldn’t be too bad, but she is now 51/2 years old!!!!! So please help me get started with scrapbooking again. 🙂
    julie_ruhlman(at)hotmail(dot)com

  40. Audra Marie says:

    My motivation is capturing moments for my family and I to enjoy looking at again and again. Great package. 🙂

  41. Holly says:

    I am scrapbooking my childhood photos-it has been so much fun for my kids to see what I looked like as a child!

  42. Amy says:

    Scrapbooking is the only way I can be artsy!!! I am going to be a mom and need to get started on the baby book 🙂

  43. Lindsie says:

    I am working on my daughter’s first year.

  44. princessesindisguise says:

    My motivation is my ten kids… Time goes by so fast that I want to preserve all the memories. They love looking through the albums I’ve completed. Thanks for the giveaway!
    Kathy (mom the princessesindisguise)
    bigfamily8(at)yahoo(dot)com

  45. Mrs. K Hewett says:

    I have completed several albums, and each in their way, is special to me. But I think one of my favorite was an album celebrating the life of my great-grand aunt for her 90th birthday. I had the opportunity to weave history from the first decade of the 20th century to the first decade of the 21st through memories of her life – it was fun, and she loves it! Thanks for including me in your drawing.

  46. Katie Martin says:

    I want to show my kids when they are older the fun time we had as a family. And how cute they were. Thanks for the giveaway.

  47. Jennifer says:

    I am not working on a scrapbook at the moment, but will be soon. Our new baby needs her pics put into one. I am just waiting until I have a little spare time which will be when our homeschool year comes to an end and I can use some of that time to work on it.

    dj3hill98@bellsouth.net

  48. Melissa says:

    Scrapbooking is the best way I’ve found to record my family’s story–birthdays, vacations, and all the everything things in between. Great prizes: thanks for offering this!

  49. Julie says:

    I am so passionate about scrapbooking! Once my kids are in bed I stay up WAY too late working on projects! I am currently working on adding pages to my second daughter’s scrapbook, and a project for group who provides scrapbooks to foster kids! And card making as always! What a fun giveaway!

  50. Keryn says:

    I’m not a scrapbooker–mostly because I already have too many hobbies: beading, blogging, sewing, crocheting, raising three children, etc. But my best friend (and awesome pinch-hitter babysitter) loves scrapbooking, and it would be fun to give her these.

  51. kelley says:

    I started scrapping just 5 years ago….I made an adoption book for my soon to my son. It kept me busy while we were waiting and it thoroughly chronicle’s everything from before baby…to the process…about his birth parents….our trip…coming home…everything.
    Ever since that day, have been hooked.
    Great contest….thank you

  52. joan o says:

    I love to scrapbook. Right now I am working on a black & white book with old pictures b&W from my family. However, I also am still working on 1 girl and 1 boy book for my children also

  53. I’m still working on the album for oldest daughter’s first year, and she’s eight.

  54. I just completed a scrapbook documenting from the day I met my husband to our engagement. Thank you for much for the giveaway. I would love to win this! nw_wife(at)hotmail(dot)com

  55. holly says:

    I like to scrapbook because I want to tell my grandparent’s story, my parent’s story and my story for my children and their children. It’s so important to tell your family’s story for future generations, not just so they can know you better, but so they can see what the times were like. I recently found one of my grandmother’s books from when she first got married. It was beautifully done with black and white photos on black paper. There was no writing at all. Not even the names of people. I asked her who they were and she couldn’t remember a lot of them. Very sad. This is my goal- to make sure my kids know the details.
    Thanks for the giveaway!!

  56. Valerie says:

    I’m a creative person (love drawing) so scrapbooking is very fun-great stress reliever.

  57. Leah says:

    My motivation to scrap is the need to tell a story with all the pictures I take. I LOVE to take pictures, but I love even more the story that is behind them. Great site! Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

  58. Christy says:

    I am DETERMINED to do a scrapbook for each of my kids since I didn’t do baby books. They are my inspiration.

  59. katie says:

    I have two daughters that I scrap for, although i haven’t done much since my 2nd was born a year ago. This would help motivate me to get back to it!

  60. Tammy says:

    I personally have never scrapbooked, but our daughter got her first digital camera today, and she is already looking at scrapbooking materials!

  61. Ashley BB says:

    I love to scrapbook, I just don’t have the time right now. I am still working on my #2 son’s first year book and he is turning 2 in two months! Thanks for the chance to win!

  62. chanelireli says:

    I have twins that need an album done. In my defense they are a lot of work 🙂 But I’m a year behind!

  63. bobbie says:

    I love to scrapbook, thanks for doing this giveaway.
    galedrial@hotmail.com

  64. Christi says:

    I love creating other things with scrapbook materials like custom clipboards, letter decorations, anything I can decoupage on!

  65. Tiffany says:

    I’ve really been wanting to get into scrapbooking. My main inspiration is for my future children. I think it would be great to make scrapbooks of/for them. I would also love to make one after my wedding. (Assuming I don’t hate all the pictures ;))

  66. I love scrapbooking (and you’re right, CM products are the best!). My reasons for doing it are very similar to yours — I want to document childhood for my kids and it’s such an escape for me. If I disappear in my scrap room for a few hours, I emerge refreshed and relaxed. I love it! (BTW, I love your blog header — great design and the tag line made me smile.)

  67. Elizabeth says:

    I love scrapbooking but don’t work on my photo album as much as I would like. If I win this prize I would actually give it to a sweet young lady from my church who just recently came to me asking me about starting her own photo album.

    Thanks for the opportunity,
    Elizabeth
    zizziecards@gmail.com
    zizziehappenings.blogpost.com

  68. Tamara (AK) says:

    We are newbie scrappers so I don’t have a lot to share…but any supplies would motivate us! 😉

  69. That’s so cool. I haven’t scrapped booked since high school, but I got way into then. I scrapbooked my entire trip to israel. Still not finished but almost!!!!

  70. Barbara H. says:

    I’d love this! I have only done one scrapbook for one son’s graduation. I have 5 years of pictures not in any kind of book and several old sticky photo albums that need to be redone.

    barbarah06(at)gmail(dot)com

  71. Kathy says:

    I am working on my son’s Air Force scrapbook. He just returned from Iraq. It is bittersweet. Thanks, Kathy

  72. Sarah A. says:

    An album I recently finished was our Christmas trip to Costa Rica with our extended family. Great memories.

  73. taylor k. says:

    the scrapbook that i am currently working on is “sam’s first year” its all about my baby from pregnancy to his first birthday. i have a second book for his birthday party though.

    i am also still working on my wedding book, but that has fallen behind because sam’s book means so much more to me.

  74. Audra says:

    I love to create- I think that is what atracts me to scrapbooking there is always some new thing to create! Thanks for the great giveaway!

  75. Rebecca says:

    I’m looking forward to scrapping my new son’s birth and these early weeks. I just love to be able to keep track in such a fun, visual way! The last pages I did were of my brothers and I.

  76. Melody says:

    Album I am working on now is a lifebook for my daughter. It starts at her adoption and shows her birthmom, where she was born, and etc. I am also working on a birthday scrapbook that will have her birthdays in it until she is a teenager and will not let me take lots of pictures of her birthday anymore!! hahaa.

  77. fedora says:

    CM stuff is gorgeous, I have to agree! I’ve been working on a couple of trip scrapbooks for (ahem) a couple years now… it’s SO hard to have time to spread everything out with little ones running around!

  78. april says:

    I’m trying to put together scrapbooks for each of the kids(3) to keep

  79. Chrysa says:

    I haven’t scrapbooked before, but have been thinking about starting. Some of my friends have made beautiful books! Thanks for the giveaway!

  80. Shay says:

    Currently I’m working on my daughter’s scrapbook birth to 3 years I sorta stopped around her first birthday.

  81. Miss Heidi says:

    I used to think scrapbooking seemed like a cheesy hobby. I will admit. But I’m one of those creative type people, so a lot of my friends who were into it said I’d probably have a blast doing it. They were right. I just got into it not too long ago and I’m glad I did. I have so much fun with it. Thanks.
    Heidi
    sweet_soul_sistermi@yahoo.com

  82. Tisha says:

    I love scrapbooking… I am working on a book for my boyfriend for our one year anniversary… everything fun we’ve done in the past year! These goodies would be great to use to work on the book!

    ticole96(at)msn(dot)com

  83. Teri Meairs says:

    I am new to the scrapbooking world. It can be a bit overwhelming with all the stuff out there. This sounds perfect for a beginner like me. My granddaughter will be born anyday now, so she is my inspiration!

  84. I am so jealous of all those people who talk about their passion of scrapping, and I want to do some of my own too!

  85. Michelle B says:

    I need to start doing my first daughters scrapbook. I try to scrap at least the first year of each of my kids life. (or at least the ones since I have started scrapbooking) My daughter is 2 1/2 and the baby will be one in 3 months. So I really need to get started I have been in the gathering stage now I just need to start working. THe one I completed that is my most treasured is my wedding album I took all of my photos out of the photo album. It looks so nice

  86. Erica G says:

    I need some new inspiration. I am working on our vacation pictures right now and I am trying to finish them up before our first baby arrives at the end of June. I know I will be busy with tons of pictures of the baby!

  87. Dawn Bates says:

    I’m a scrapbooking freak. I always wished that some of my older relatives would have made memory books so that I could learn about how they lived. I guess I just wanted to provide this in the event my great great grandchildren were interested in what it was like to live in my time.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  88. Teri says:

    I’m currently working on (almost finished with) an album of our wedding day (which, hey, was only 4 years ago). It is almost finished and I love the way that it turned out and the memories inside it!

  89. Ashley Henley says:

    i have never scrapbooked but have been wanting to try it

  90. Meg says:

    I just finished my two children’s baby scrapbooks….now I’m catching up on family yearly albums….I’m currently in 2005! Thanks! ( meg.wilson@gmail.com )

  91. Fruitbearer says:

    I am working on an alphabet scrapbook for my youngest son.

  92. daisy says:

    OH, my gosh, you opened up a can of worms…or something like that! LOL

    I have eleven children. I did not get into scrapbooking until just a few years ago, so I have a LOT of catching up to do. A LOT.

    I can’t decide if I want to make one family book for each child, or if I want to make one book ABOUT each child, or if I want to start a family history album and just let them fight over it…I’m so confused! But I absolutely love collecting the supplies, and organizing them, and organizing my pictures, so I guess that’s okay. By the time I’m ready to actually make books, I’ll know where everything is, and what I want to do with it, so it’ll go really really fast! Whew! *gasp!* I think I thought all of that with only one breath.

  93. Wheresthebox says:

    I have been stamping and making cards for about two years and am determined to start scrapbooking this year, but don’t really know where to start!

  94. Terra Heck says:

    I love to scrapbook. I find it so relaxing and I enjoy using the pictures I have taken and making a work of art with them. I have made over 30 scrapbooks and my family loves to look through them and reminisce.

  95. Diane says:

    I’ve just finished a hybrid mini-album for my grandson’s birthday. He loves it! That’s why I love to scrap – to make people (and myself) happy and to preserve those everyday little moments so they won’t be forgotten.

  96. 3kids2jobs1dog says:

    I am always working on at least one scrapbook. Right now I am working on a scrapbook for my oldest daughter about influential women of color. She is 8 years old and biracial and having her first identity crisis. When she told me one day that “they” don’t let brown girls be princesses or president, I thought of the idea to show her just how many brown women out there are changing the world. Ok, so I am only on A (for Angelou, Maya) but it is in progress! Great giveaway!
    Mandy
    theyearofme@hotmail.com

  97. LeeAnn says:

    I am working on one with pictures from when I took a trip out west during college. Looking forward to getting it finished!

  98. Sandy says:

    Scrapbooking is my vital link to the present and the past. I love it.

