Updating the List

I started a project in January instead of creating a list of New Year’s resolutions – a list of over a thousand things I want to accomplish in the next couple of years.

It’s been a while since I looked at the list, so today I sat down to update it. There are a few things I need to add still (some of the items are things I want to do once a month, and I need to check my calendar to make a note of when I did them in February and March), but it’s coming along nicely.

Still, I can’t decide if this list is too easy or too difficult. Is it too much within my reach? Did I focus too much on material things and not enough on personal transformations? I go for weeks without thinking of the list at all, and then when I’m sitting around wondering what to do with myself on a Saturday afternoon, it comes to mind. In that respect, I suppose it’s serving a purpose – motivating me to think through a few goals and then consciously work to achieve them. Sadly, though, the ones that are the most important and somehow sacred to me (particularly the writing goals) are the ones left untouched four months in to this experiment. What does that say about me? Probably something about my time management skills – probably a lot about my level of fear.

Care to check on my progress? The list is here. Do you have your own list of goals and projects? What keeps you working on them – especially the ones that feel risky and daring?

One Response to Updating the List

  1. Heather says:

    Sounds like a great idea. I fear mine would be left untouched as well though.

Leave a Reply

