Unacceptable Conversation Starters

Ladies and gentlemen, I’d like to propose that the following phrases be stricken from polite conversation in a civilized society:

Cold enough out there for ya?

Wooo…. guess we’re walking in a winter wonderland!

I guess Jack Frost is working overtime today.

Better batten down the hatches! (also: Better bunker down!)

Old Man Winter/Mother Nature’s really got it in for us, huh?

and sadly, my husband’s personal favorite:

Geez, it’s cold as balls out there!

4 Responses to Unacceptable Conversation Starters

  1. Heather says:

    We hear a lot of the first one around here (although today? 50 degrees! Sweet!)

    My hubby is fond of saying “it’s colder than a witch’s tit.”

    I’m not sure how cold that is, but apparently its pretty cold.

  2. Coralie says:

    There’s an entire Canadian comedy routine built around the phrase “Cold enough for ya’?” I’m always tempted to answer “Nah. I could take ten more degrees or so.”

  3. I agree!
    I am so tired of talking about the f’ing weather.
    YES. IT. IS. STILL. COLD.

  4. Kirsetin says:

    My son will probably go for your husband’s quote when he gets old & cold. A few years ago, when he was about four, my mother gave him a bath using “proper” body terminology. He listened, paused, and then looked up at her and said, “Well, we call them balls.” Boys…Men…. perhaps the only difference is a few years & med school.

Leave a Reply

