Two

Photobucket
That day he was twenty-one-and-a-half inches long and eight pounds, three ounces. Today he’s three feet tall and thirty pounds.

That day he latched on and nursed like a pro, and I was so thankful that we were off to a great start together. Today we are navigating the waters of toddler tantrums and communication frustrations, but we’re still doing pretty well together.

That day I was tired and sore, achy and exhausted – but exhilarated and energized. Today I’m tired and sick, achy and overwhelmed – but amazed and excited.

That day I knew I would always love him with all my heart, and today I still know it’s true.
Photobucket

7 Responses to Two

  1. Mrs. Chicken says:

    Happy birthday to dear little Smooch, and also a happy birth day to his lovely, talented mama.

  2. Waiting Amy says:

    Happy happy day to you both!

  3. fizzledink says:

    Thanks, you guys. I wish I could give you both some cake! (Seriously. I have a WHOLE chocolate cake here. Why did I make a 9×13 cake? Now, you know, I want to EAT all that cake. Plus I bought three kinds of cookies and two bags of candy to make the character faces…. I’m going to gain eight pounds just from this birthday!)

  4. Heather says:

    Awwww, happy birthday Smooch and Mama.

    You could send some of that chocolate cake my way…

  5. fizzledink says:

    I’d love to! Lord knows I don’t need to eat it. And you’ve got a great excuse to eat what-evah you want…. actually, you know what just occurred to me? All THREE OF you guys are preggo. (Care to send some good fertility vibes my way? πŸ™‚ )

  6. Coralie says:

    What a beautiful post! Do you know that most people end up double their height at 2? You’ve got a 6 foot boy on your hands there! Start a savings account for his shoes now. πŸ™‚

    (I’m both eagerly anticipating, and sadly dreading being able to write posts like this.)

  7. fizzledink says:

    Thank you so much. πŸ™‚

    And yeah, my Gruff is 6-foot-3 and wears a size 14… so I’m *sure* that Smooch is going to be eating us out of house and home in NO TIME! (My mom, on the other hand, is 4′ 10″ and she says Smooch will probably be taller than her by the time he’s 8.)

Leave a Reply

