She’s Got the Look

I confess: I’m starting to lose my love for WordPress. I love the dashboard, love the stats feature, love the categories and tags, love the advance-posting option. But there are a few things I really miss about Blogger – even I, a complete dunce when it comes to coding and markups and whatever-the-hell-else you call all the stuff that happens behind the scenes to make a blog look pretty, can customize layouts and colors in Blogger. And I miss being able to install little HTML or Javascript buttons and badges –I have just spent 30 minutes trying to figure out how on earth to get my Twitter updates to display in my sidebar here. Now that’s aggravation. And I didn’t realize beforehand, but I miss the fact that Blogger would have allowed me to advertise, if I wanted to, while WordPress says “No, no, no!” I’m just irritated.

That being said, what do you think of the new look? I’m pretty happy with it, mainly because I wanted a change –ANY change– so I could be biased. Given the limited choices available to free wordpress.com blogs, there’s not much to work with.

One of these days, you guys. One of these days, I’m going to take the plunge. Self-host. Get a domain. Work with a fancy-shmancy web designer and get an awesome new layout. (Or maybe I’ll win one tomorrow – last fall, there were at least two or three web design packages being given away… Hmmm, that’s something nice to dream about.)

3 Responses to She’s Got the Look

  1. Mrs. Chicken says:

    Like it – and I love your new tagline!

  2. Heather says:

    Very nice! I’m with Mrs. Chicken, love the tagline.

  3. I love the way your page looks!

    I have no experience with WordPress…I’m still with blogger, and someday, like you, I may take the plunge and get my own site!

Leave a Reply

