You’ll never guess

…who called me tonight.

The Big Chain Learning Center lady.

So, yes, it’s been a month and a half since I dropped off my resume and left her office, hopeful and confident. A month of wondering and worrying. I started researching what private tutors make in my area, and looked into opening a shop on Etsy, and considered selling anything not nailed down to the local resale/consignment/used book/used movies and games stores.

Things evened out last month when Gruff got a reimbursement check from his residency program for a portion of what we pay for high-speed internet and for a portion of what he spent to feed himself during his rotations at neighboring hospitals; and when he got a small holiday bonus check, that helped a little more. So December’s books balanced, even with Christmas gifts and company coming.

But now it’s January, and I was starting to worry again. And then, the phone rang.

I’ll go in on Monday for an interview (it would have been sooner, but I’m only available in the evenings after Gruff is home, and the office manager won’t be in during the evenings this week). She pointed out that it was “a really laid-back, no big deal interview. And after that we’ll hopefully get you started part time!”

My only concern at this point – because it sounds like she liked my resume and wants to hire me – is that my schedule will be too inflexible for what they need. It doesn’t make sense to get a babysitter for Smooch (and pay out most of what I’m bringing in), so I will only work when Gruff is home: usually after 6:30 pm on weekdays, and usually two weekends a month. That’s not a LOT of hours. But I’m hopeful.

Like I told Gruff when he asked how much they pay: “I don’t know, but whatever it is will be more than I’m making now!”

6 Responses to You’ll never guess

  1. Waiting Amy says:

    Awesome! It will be tough to change your routine, but a little extra spending money is never a bad thing! Congrats!

  2. fizzledink says:

    Yeah, the big disadvantage is that it will mean a drop in time we get to spend together – if I’m rushing out the door as soon as he gets home – but we really need to get some bills paid off (especially our credit cards) and it’s either this, or start selling everything that’s not nailed down. 😀 Ha!

  3. twithhoney says:

    Good luck!
    And the less stress from more income may make your time together more pleasant – just a thought.

  4. Heather says:

    Wonderful! I love it when unexpected things help like this!

  5. Mrs. Chicken says:

    Great news, friend. Hope it works out for you.

  6. fizzledink says:

    That’s a really good point, T – I bet you’re right. We’ve been doing better lately, not griping at each other over spending — but I know that my stress level will go way down, and that HAS to help.

    Thanks for all the well wishes, you guys. It makes me smile to log in here and see that. The internets are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

