A follow-up and some linky-dinky-do, too.

So, I was checking in with my blogroll peeps and came across OrgJunkie’s Menu Plan Monday — why, my goodness, how nicely that dovetails with my Victorious Shopping Moment! Oh, you’d like to hear what lovely meals I’m planning on my $7-and-change a day? Well, ask and you shall recieve.

OrgJunkie MPM
Monday – Ham, Cheesy Potato Casserole, and Spinach
Tuesday – Turkey Soup
Wednesday – Spicy Black Beans & Rice
Thursday – Chickpea Pasta with Almonds & Parmesan
Friday – Potato Soup
Saturday – Stuffed Chicken Shells, Broccoli-Cauliflower Mix
Sunday – Brunswick Stew

Let’s see, Monday’s potato casserole is actually half a casserole that I made weeks ago and froze, ditto for Tuesday’s turkey soup – that bird was from Thanksgiving! I’ve made the black beans & rice dish before, and I love it (though Gruff merely tolerates it – he’s not big on spicy foods but he indulges me from time to time.) The chickpea dish is a new one from this month’s Real Simple, and I’m looking forward to trying it out. I had a great coupon for almonds, and I already had the pasta and parmesan, so it was probably pennies to make this meal! The recipes for Friday, Saturday, and Sunday all came from a new cookbook I recieved from my stepmother-in-law over the holidays; if they turn out well then I’ll share them here.

 Oh, and I realized that I commented to Amy that I was only making one meatless meal, but I’m actually making three – two this week and Cheese Tortellini with Marinara Sauce next week. I think that’s still not to bad for what I paid at the store!

 There are tons more menu plans and recipes over at I’m an Organizing Junkie today.

5 Responses to A follow-up and some linky-dinky-do, too.

  1. Amy says:

    Sounds good! Potato soup is one of my favorite meals of all time. I wish I could get my DH to do some meatless meals- it sure would help the grocery budget!

  2. Heather says:

    I love making soup for supper since I can start it in the crock in the morning and do nothing else with it for the rest of the day.

    I too, plan 2 weeks of meals (well, supper meals) at a time. It’s helped immensely with the “what should we have for supper?” question that used to drive me insane. It helps with the grocery bill too, usually, since I try to buy only what I need for those meals. Of course it doesn’t always work out that way, but it’s a start.

    Thanks for putting the Midwest Parents ad on your sidebar!

  3. Sonshine says:

    sounds like a yummy week! Where can I find the recipes for your Turkey soup and Stuffed Chicken shells?? Those sound like some dishes that my crew would enjoy.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog this week! 🙂

  4. Billie says:

    Hi! Thanks for visiting me at Menu Monday. I have finally linked my meatball recipe. I hope that your son does enjoy if you try. It is an odd sounding recipe, but I promise you it’s yummy!

    Your menu sounds delicious too!

  5. fizzledink says:

    The turkey soup recipe is from my trusty Better Homes & Gardens cookbook. It requires a “meaty turky frame” – so I made it after Thanksgiving with my big bird, and then froze about half of it, which is what we’ll be eating.

    Stuffed Chicken Shells
    large pasta shells
    1 Tbsp. cooking oil
    1 onion, chopped
    4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts chopped
    2 – 6 oz. boxes Stove Top stuffing
    1 c. mayonnaise
    2 – 10 3/4 oz. cans cream of chicken soup

    Preheat oven to 350*. Cook pasta, drain, and set aside.

    In a large skillet, heat oil, add onions and cook 2-3 minutes. Add chicken and cook until done (about 10 minutes).

    Prepare stuffing. Add chicken and onions to stuffing mix. Stir in mayo. Fill shells with mixtures and arrange in a lightly oiled baking pan.

    In a bowl, combine soup and equal parts water. Pour over stuffed shells.

    Cover with foil and bake at 350* for 45 minutes.

    Our week didn’t go quite according to the plan; Gruff got to have a fancy drug-rep funded dinner on Tuesday and then on Friday we used the last of our Christmas gift-cards to a nearby restaurant, so some of our meals were rearranged and I have a few to carry over into the following week!

Leave a Reply

