Oh, the frugality

I just have to brag for a minute. I went grocery shopping this afternoon — having planned meals for fourteen days, plus needing a few pantry staples, a few household items (paper towels and toilet paper), and three cards for a family member facing a new medical diagnosis — and exited an hour and a half later. I spent $106.23. If I subtract the cards, and average everything else out, that’s just $7.14 a day to feed all three of us! (To be honest, I will likely hit the store at some point next week for another gallon of whole milk for Smooch, a loaf of bread, and another bunch of bananas – so that might bring my average up to $7.85. Still not bad.) Considering that for a while, I was spending $350-400 a month on groceries, I’m really feeling good about my ability to pinch pennies and still come up with a nice variety of healthy meals. Yay for the little housewifely victories, eh?

4 Responses to Oh, the frugality

  1. Waiting Amy says:

    Good for you! I admit, this has not been my strong point in this whole residency. It gets hard sometimes to buy meat and decent produce on a low budget. So, GOOD JOB!

  2. fizzledink says:

    Thanks, Amy! I know exactly what you mean. I’m having to learn how to make the occasional meatless meal (but we’re only having one in this two-week period) and I’ve found quite a few recipes that make plenty for two meals for us, so I’ve started fixing things and immediately freezing half. That’s nice for two reasons – obviously it stretches my grocery dollars, but it also means I have a few choices of easy/quick prep dinners on days I don’t feel like cooking, so I don’t have to succumb to the lure of eating out.

    But I have to admit, I’m not buying a ton of fresh produce right now – fresh fruit is so expensive in the winter, ugh! Other than bananas, which Smooch can’t seem to live without daily. We’re eating a lot of applesauce and frozen fruit at the moment.

  3. Amy says:

    Yay! I can relate, I always feel good when I can cut costs. Today I only spent $60 at Sam’s, where I normally spend at least $100-150.

  4. Mrs. Chicken says:

    That is impressive, Fizz. Our grocery bill has been low lately, too, but that is because I am just not cooking.

Leave a Reply

