Of the people, by the people, for the people

I nearly feel like this should be a guest post over at Karen’s. I have a secret, too.

I really hate politics. Actually, that’s not true. I can’t seem to muster up the energy to even hate politics. I just don’t care about politics.

Over the years, I have had a variety of inner-monologue excuses for this apathy. The problem is, most of my ‘reasons’ just don’t hold water anymore, and I’m starting to feel guilty about my ignorant bliss. Take, for instance, the Big Three things I keep telling myself:

I’m too young to worry about politics.
The problem is, I’m really getting too old to claim this one. I’m 27 – on the downward slope to thirty! Besides which, I have so many of those “maturity” check-boxes filled in by now (married, mother, homeowner), I really shouldn’t be trying to weasel out of it.

I’m only living here for a short time, so it doesn’t matter if I don’t get educated or involved.
We bought a house this summer, and my big justification for staying firmly out-of-the-loop on local issues is gone. We’re invested, with our time and our money, in this town and state for the next four years at least.

I don’t know anything about {foreign policy/the economy/immigration/tax reform/fill-in-the-hot-topic}.
And here lies the crux of the matter. I should be more ashamed to admit this, but I just feel resigned to it: I don’t know much about a lot of big world issues. I know a LOT of things about a few important subjects, mainly education and child-development related, but somehow? All of that stuff they told me in high school about economics went in one ear and out the other. I have a horrible sense of geography and can’t keep my historical facts in order to save my life. I watch the news, I try to get a grasp on this nation’s conflict or that one’s hold on oil, and two days later I can’t remember if they were talking about Namibia or Gambia.

I realized last night, as Gruff watched three or four channels’ coverage of the Iowa Caucuses, that it’s probably about time I got my shit together and learned a little more about this stuff. At the very least, I ought to do my research on the candidates who’re running for President this year. But it’s a slippery slope, ain’t it? Once I learn about the candidates – their positions on big “hot-button” issues and their policies on big world matters – I need to figure out how it applies to me, how it matches up with my worldview. The hot-buttons are probably simpler; I’m sure I have an opinion on at least a few of those. But the ones I don’t understand? The ones that seem to be all shades of gray, with no black or white discernable? That’s going to lead to more research, more learning.

 And really, who has the time?

Which brings me back to my original point. I hate politics.

4 Responses to Of the people, by the people, for the people

  1. Mrs. Chicken says:

    Don’t hate politics. If you take the time to learn, you’ll be amazed how much you care. And how outraged you are. How passionate. I want The Poo to grow up in a world that doesn’t saddle her with debt and violence as a way of life.

    Learn. Listen. Vote.

    Please.

  2. […] 5, 2008 Okay, okay. I’m going to watch the debates tonight – I’m all settled in bed with Smooch already […]

  3. Which is funny, because in November 2006, one of my dirty secrets was about how much I love politics. 🙂

  4. […] leave at once!) Posted by fizzledink under Daily Ramblings, Politics   I’ve been doing my homework. (Aren’t you proud of […]

Leave a Reply

