A girl can dream, can’t she?

My perfect day, if such a thing exists, would go something like this:

7:00 a.m. Wake up feeling refreshed, to a calm & quiet house. Put on a pot of coffee, do a devotional or meditational reading, and relax on the back deck.

8:00 a.m. Smooch wakes up in a great mood, and we have a cheerful, mess-free breakfast together. While I clean up the breakfast dishes, he runs around happily playing with his toys – without creating a bigger mess for me to clean up.

9:00 a.m. When we go downstairs to the playroom, Smooch immediately becomes engrossed in a game that doesn’t require parental assistance. I log on to the Internet and do a little “benign neglect” — occasionally commenting on his play, or answering his little questions, but mainly doing my own thing and letting him do his.

11:00 a.m. We head out the door to meet a friend at the park. The kids play, and we moms actually get to carry on a full conversation without all of that jumping up and down to break apart squabbles or rescue over-ambitious little climbers.

12:00 noon. After a (mess-free) lunch, Smooch goes happily to his room for a four hour nap. The house has miraculously been cleaned by someone else, so I get to spend the time reading, sewing, writing, and watching TV. Guilt-free, by the way.

4:00 p.m. When Smooch wakes up, I’ve got a snack all ready to go that he loves. Then we start an awesome art project, and not only does he decide not to eat the paint, but he actually really gets into it and spends a lot of time at it!

5:00 p.m. Gruff gets off early, and as soon as he walks through the door, he hands me a Pumpkin Spice Latte and offers to take Smooch outside to play. More quiet time for myself! I prepare a fabulous dinner, totally from scratch, and it all goes according to the plan.

6:30 p.m. After dinner (which Smooch eats happily), Gruff cleans up the kitchen while Smooch and I play. Then we both give him his bath, since that’s always a hoot.

7:00 p.m. Family cuddles in the big bed, with Smooch in his cute little footie pajamas. He gives out lots of kisses and hugs, and then declares it’s time for “Nigh’-nigh’,” with nary a protest. We tuck him in and get to have some {ahem} couple time.

:::

….You know, after writing that all out, I realize that I do get my perfect day. I just get it in little snippets, and not all in one 24-hour period!

Leave a Reply

