Over the river & through the woods, to Fizz’s house they go…

Y’all. I am so tired.

We just found out that Gruff’s dad, stepmom, grandfather, & stepgrandmother invited themselves to our house for the weekend. And they’ll be here through Monday. I guess my birthday (Tuesday) won’t be too relaxing, since I’ll be cleaning up and getting the house in order post-company, and prepping for more company. Because on Wednesday, Gruff’s mom, two sisters, and brother-in-law are all arriving for Thanksgiving and will be here through the next Sunday.

I tend to get a little compulsive about housecleaning and preparation for visitors. I know this about myself, and I don’t really like it – but I have a hard time reigning it in. The other day, as I made out my mile-long grocery list (because of course I have to feed all these people while they’re here, oh yes sir, I do) I found myself feeling really tense.

And then Smooch had a total toddler moment. He picked up his bowl of dry cereal and shook it. Little round cereal bites flew EVERYWHERE. I let out a big “OH, good GRIEF, Smooch!” before I managed to get a hold of myself. I don’t want to be tense, snappy, angry Mommy. I don’t want to fuss at him for something that’s developmentally appropriate, and –in the scheme of things– not a big deal at all.

You know how I keep harping on my need for balance? Well, whatever I’d gained in that department has flown out the window. I’m stressed. I’m overwhelmed by the things that need to be done, the rapidly shrinking window of time in which to do them… oh yeah, and managing to keep posting daily for NaBloPoMo, because I’ll be darned if I let my in-laws take that away from me!

My plan for this morning includes a trip to Starbucks (thanks to the gift certificate from my mom!) and the plan for this afternoon’s naptime is a rousing bit of cleaning, followed by a nice, hot bubble bath. I’m going to try to prioritize the to-do list, do the most-important items on it, and let the rest GO. The key word there is “try.” Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

