Pumpkin, Pumpkin

In the spirit of the day, here’s a couple of pumpkiny things for you. First, a recipe I lo-o-o-o-o-ove. My mom has made these for years, and now I make them when the weather gets cool. (Well, when we lived in South Florida, the weather never really got cool, so I made them when I wished the weather was cool.) This morning we whipped up a batch and the prep time was only about 15 minutes, even with Smooch “helping” with the pouring and stirring of ingredients.

PUMPKIN STRESUEL MUFFFINS

1 egg, beaten

½ cup milk

½ cup canned pumpkin

⅓ cup oil

½ tsp salt

1 ¾ cup flour

½ cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg

3 oz. cream cheese

 

Streusel topping:

¼ c packed brown sugar

½ tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cold butter

 

Preheat oven to 400*. Combine egg, milk, pumpkin, and oil. Stir in remaining ingredients except cream cheese. Batter will be lumpy. Fill greased (or paper-lined) muffin cups half full with about half of batter. Divide cream cheese into 12 portions and place one portion in each muffin cup, in the center of the batter. Top muffin cups with remaining batter – cups should be about ¾ full. For topping: mix brown sugar with cinnamon in small mixing bowl. Cut in butter until mixture resembles crumbs. Sprinkle over tops of batter in muffin cups. Bake 15-20 minutes.

While you’re waiting for your muffins to bake, you can sing this with your favorite preschooler.

I’m a Little Pumpkin
(tune: I’m a Little Teapot)

I’m a little pumpkin, orange and round.
Here is my stem and there is the ground.
When I get all cut up, don’t you shout…
Open me up and scoop me out!

We’re off to a playgroup party. Smooch is going as a duck and I’m going as a Mommy-in-an-Old-Navy-pumpkin-tee. Should be big fun! I hope everyone has a happy Halloween with many of your favorite treats and no evil tricks at all.

Leave a Reply

