Uppers and Downers

Yesterday morning, I brewed six cups of coffee and drank every drop by about 9:30.

I drank a 20-oz Diet Coke Plus with my lunch.

There might have been a glass of water at some point in the afternoon, but I can’t quite remember.

At dinner, I had a 20-oz Diet Coke.

When I got into bed at 10:30, I couldn’t sleep. My mind was racing. I got up around 11:00 and jotted down all the fabulous blog ideas floating through my head, and got back into bed. That didn’t help. I reflected on all the caffeine I’d consumed. I considered getting up and firing up the laptop and writing until I could sleep – but then it occurred to me that I would probably get sleepy about 45 minutes before Smooch woke for the day. So I scratched that idea.

Finally at quarter till midnight, I took a Tylenol PM. The last time I saw the clock it was 12:30, so I guess I fell asleep sometime before 1:00 a.m.

Blessedly, Smooch slept in until nearly 9 o’clock this morning, so I got plenty of sleep. But still…

When we got up, I put on a pot of coffee, and I just drank the last drop. This is a vicious cycle!

One Response to Uppers and Downers

  1. Mrs. Chicken says:

    *snort*

    I did this today. I think I’ll be reaching for the Benedryl around midnight tonight.

Leave a Reply

