The Year In Review

Thanks to My Kids’ Mom, I’ve got another meme! And this is the perfect, introspective, probably-more-than-you-needed-to-know, detailed questionaire I’ve seen in a long time.

1. What did you do in 2006 that you’d never done before?
Give birth. Sleep with a doctor.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Yes, I did – last year mine were pretty simple. I wanted to make time for God in my daily life (which happened most days, give or take a few baby ’emergencies’). I think my sole resolution for 2007 is to survive life with two babies under two years old.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Woo, boy! Well, me for starters. My friend Staci gave birth to daughter Devin, Barbara gave birth to son Jamison, Andrea gave birth to daughter Elisa, Linda gave birth to son Eric, Bethany gave birth to son Zion, Courtney gave birth to son Simon, Dana gave birth to daughter Emery, and Genny gave birth to son Elliot. It was a baby-making year!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, thank the Lord.

5. What countries did you visit?
None at all. One of these days when I’m not pregnant, I want to be a world traveler. We’ll see if that pans out.

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
Sleep.

7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
February 3rd – NewDotBaby’s birth
May 28th – NewDotDad’s medical school graduation & NDB’s baptism
July 14th – apartment fire
November 28th – positive pregnancy test for #2!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Finishing the school year, with all my 3rd graders passing to 4th grade, and with 9 weeks of successful pumping behind me (so I could easily continue to breastfeed NDB).

9. What was your biggest failure?
Probably the same one that I’ve been battling for years – my failure to contain my temper. I’ve mellowed a LOT since I was a teenager, but I still struggle to turn this area over to God.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Just a few little colds, nothing to worry about.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My nursing wardrobe. Makes my life SO much easier!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My husband. He was wonderful during my bedrest, great during labor and delivery, and I’ve seen him be such a tender and sweet daddy. He’s also an amazing doctor, who has impressed all the attendings at his hospital. He works hard, hardly ever complains, and doesn’t have any major vices. I’m an incredibly lucky woman to know him, much less be able to share my life with him.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Britney Spears.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Baby stuff.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Scrapbooking! Breastfeeding! Cloth diapering! Homemade baby food!

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?
I don’t know. Who has time for the radio these days?

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?
a) I was happy this time last year, but I had no idea how much happier I’d be after the arrival of my son. So: happier.
b) Considering that I was Gigundo-Pregnant this time last year!? Thinner…. but probably not for long!
c) Poorer. See #14

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Spent time with my husband when it was “just the two of us.”

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Complaining about all the various pregnancy woes of my third trimester. No one cared!

20. How did you spend Christmas?
You already know that one. I’ll spare you.

21. Did you fall in love in 2006?
Yes. With an eight-pound, three-ounce baldie who has changed my life.

22. How many one-night stands?
Ewwwwwww. That would be a big, fat, zero. Thankyouverymuch.

23. What was your favorite TV program?
I had too many. Maybe that should be my resolution – nah, I think life circumstances are going to take care of this one for me next year!

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Hate is destructive, especially to the one who is doing the hating. I let go of my anger before it becomes hate.

25. What was the best book you read?
The Nursing Mother’s Companion. Mothering Your Nursing Toddler. How Weaning Happens. The Doula Advantage. Unconditional Parenting. Natural Family Living. The Natural Child. 10-Minute Time Outs For Moms. The Interior Castle.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
It’s a tie – the soundtrack of “Rent”, or the iPod. Both were pretty significant!

27. What did you want and get?
A healthy baby boy.

28. What did you want and not get?
A digital camcorder.

29. What was your favorite film this year?
The DaVinci Code

30. What did you do on your birthday and how old were you?
I went out to eat with NewDotDad and NewDotBaby. I turned 26 this year.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Oh, I don’t know. A couple of thousand dollars?

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
Washable, with easy access to the boobs.

32. What kept you sane?
Starbucks grande decaf lattes.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
As in, who do I enjoy watching, or who do I “like” like? I really love Julia Roberts – I think she’s probably a great person who doesn’t get too tangled up in the fame machine, and I think she’s probably a super mom. As far as a man-with-a-capital-M, it has to be Patrick Dempsey. McDreamy, indeed!!!

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
I did not have time for politics. I rarely do, but this year it all just seemed so trivial.

36. Who did you miss?
My mom. I spent a lot of time with her in the fall of 2005, and in the spring of 2006, when she came to stay with me to help me with bedrest and then with NDB while NDD had to be out of town for a few months. After all that quality time, I have really MISSED her the rest of this year.

37. Who was the best new person you met?
My new friend Tiffany. Our husbands both work at the hospital together, and she has a sweet son a few months older than NDB. She used to teach Deaf Ed, so we have been working on baby sign language with her, and I’ve had a blast. Definitely the coolest new person I’ve met in this town.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.
Life with a baby requires flexibility. If you let go of rigid expectations for the day/housework/schedule, you are more likely to be happy and peaceful – and more likely to see the sweet moments that would have zipped by if you were focused on your “to do” list.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
“Mama said there’d be days like this…”

***

We have more visitors coming in this weekend, so I’ll still be scarce the next few days. Happy New Year to everyone. I hope that if you look back on 2006, you see more to celebrate than to mourn; and I hope that as you look forward to 2007, you do so with a smile on your lips and hope in your heart. Now let’s finish this meme with a tag….. Hey, Mrs. Chicken – you’re it!

4 Responses to The Year In Review

  1. Mrs. Chicken says:

    Whew! Just in time! I am so worn out from the holidays that I have no inspiration. Look for my turn after the blog exchange on Jan. 1 – which you should totally do next month, if you haven’t already signed up!

    Hope you’re feeling well, and happy New Year.

  2. owlhaven says:

    I did this one too. very fun!

    Mary,mom to many

  3. MyKidsMom says:

    “I think my sole resolution for 2007 is to survive life with two babies under two years old.” I think that is the best New Years Resolution I’ve heard EVER. Thankfully, it’s not mine!!! 🙂

  4. NewDotMom says:

    Mrs. C – Ooooh, blog exchange… I think next month is probably the soonest I can handle that :0) (More on that in my next post!) What a good suggestion – thank you!

    Mary, I’ll have to come read yours. I always love your perspective from a large family – and I’m totally hooked on pictures of your cute kiddos!

    MKM- I’m glad you like my resolution 😉 C’mon, don’t you wanna jump on the 2>2 bandwagon? It’s going to be quite the trip!

Leave a Reply

