We Need A Little Christmas (Meme), Right This Very Minute…

This meme was over at Rocks In My Dryer, and I just had to jump in on it!

1. What is guaranteed to make you smile over the holidays?
The sight of my little boy in any of his numerous “Baby’s First Christmas” items (bib, hat, jammies, sweater) or the adorable “little man” outfits that were gifted to him for Christmas (oh, the vest and the driving cap! It makes my heart go all goopy-soft and I can’t help but grin at him).

2. What makes you weepy during the holidays?
The ending of “It’s A Wonderful Life.” As soon as George runs up the stairs and kisses the knob that always comes off – straight through until Zuzu tells him, “Teacher says, every time a bell rings, an angel gets his wings,” and he assures her, “That’s right, that’s right!” – I sob my heart out. It’s just the happiest scene ever.

3. How will you spend Christmas Eve and Day?
It was important to me that we start our first Christmas with our son off on the right foot, so when all of our families were picking days to come up and visit I mentioned that Christmas Eve and Christmas Day were off-limits. We have plenty of family drama, especially with divorced parents on NewDotDad’s side, and I don’t want that to cloud these days. We got up this morning (Eve) and attended church together in the ‘cry room.’ We opened one gift each when we got home (NDD can’t wait until nightfall!) and spent the rest of the day relaxing and enjoying NewDotBaby’s new walking skill! Tomorrow (Day) we’ll get up and put our traditional cinnamon rolls in the oven, and then head into the livingroom for presents. NDD always dons a Santa hat to pass out the gifts – but we’ll see how it goes this year with a distractable baby!

4. What was your most memorable Christmas and why?
The Christmas that my dad was in Saudi Arabia in the first Gulf War. I was 10 and my brother was 7. It was hard, and sad, and different – but it was amazing, too. We stayed with my grandparents, and their whole church just took us in and made us feel so loved and cared for. I cried a lot that Christmas, but we also had a lot of wonderful, warm moments. And my best gift that year was my letter from my dad (which I still have, in my dresser drawer – and which still makes me cry when I reread it).

5. Christmas form letters from friends — pro or con?
Huge pro – I look forward to them all year!

6. In your home is Christmas more of a religious or secular observance?
We try to focus on the spiritual aspect of the holiday, but we don’t ban the secular stuff. We love snowman and Santa decorations, and all the great classic movies, and fun and funny songs.

7. What is your favorite Christmas Carol?
“While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks By Night”

8. What is your deepest prayer for the world this Christmas?
That we would heal broken relationships – between individuals, between communities and groups, between nations – and recognize the Healer who makes it possible through His love.

I tag my brother and anyone else who wants to play! Leave me a comment if you do!

4 Responses to We Need A Little Christmas (Meme), Right This Very Minute…

  1. MyKidsMom says:

    I am a little late, but I posted it anyways!!
    Merry Christmas!! 🙂

  2. MyKidsMom says:

    I also added you to my blogroll, I hope that’s ok!
    You can find it under the “this is how we roll” tab on my page.
    http://mykidsmom.wordpress.com

  3. Ju-No says:

    Okay, I’m a tad late, but hey, I was in cars most of the days surrounding Christmas.

  4. NewDotMom says:

    Awesome! Mykidsmom, I added you to my blogroll too! 🙂 And I think I’ll have to do your sister’s survey soon, that thing is DETAILED!

Leave a Reply

