It’s the Christmas Tour of Homes!

If you are reading this and wondering why on earth this post is so wonky, well, join the club. The formatting demons are after me today, and I am too tired and hormonal to deal with it. I promise to come back this afternoon or evening and try to straighten it out. In the meantime, feel free to go look at someone else’s beautiful Home Tour post that doesn’t give you vertigo. I understand.

Okay, y’all, today is the day to check out everybody’s beautiful decorations! And I hear that some people are even getting into the spirit with refreshments! The grand poo-bah of the Tour is Mrs. BooMama, of course – and at the end of her tour is the whole list of linkies to see everyone else who is participating today. Is there any better way to spend a nice, quiet, Friday morning?

Our ugly “apartment-green” door gets a festive snowman wreath. I am so anxiously looking forward to have a house to decorate for the holidays next year, where I can do more than this!

When you come in our front door, you are standing in front of those stockings you see in the background. (Add that to the new-house wishlist: a fireplace with a real mantle!) Our couch and loveseat are arranged in an “L” and the two end tables are luckily high enough that NewDotBaby can’t quite reach the tops, so they were a safe surface to decorate.

Across the room from the loveseat is our media armoire. I put my Demdaco “Willow Tree” nativity scene there, along with a candle, book, and wicker star. I have a couple of other nativity sets, but since the coffee table is off limits from breakables for a few years, this is the only one I had space to display. (Well, except for the Little People nativity that NDB has been chewing on for about a month!)

To the left of the armoire is our Christmas tree. I know it’s a little unconventional, but this year we have a smallish artificial tree (our beautiful, large, artificial tree was lost in our apartment fire; and next year we want a real, live tree for our first real, live house) and it’s perched on top of NDB’s leather table (the better to preserve the ornaments from little fingers, my dear). We have several gifts under the tree, but far more are under the table. NDB is very interested in the shiny paper and bows, and the only way to preserve them is to keep them out of sight! The wicker toy basket is there because if he can get belly-up to the table, he can reach too many things. :0)

Behind, and to the left of, the sofa, is a large bookshelf. The top is semi-decorated with a few snowmen, a snowman “Do you see what I see?” plate, and a candle.

I decorate various doorknobs in the house with little doo-dads.

This bookshelf is right next to the kitchen. I have a teapot-for-one, an acrylic snowman plate, and our Christmas card display here. (It’s a wire “Christmas tree” with those coils to hook cards into. Although, I must say, I was just enchanted with BooMama’s new tradition of displaying their Christmas cards on an artifical tree. I think I just decided what we’ll do with our dinky fake tree next year!)

I hope you enjoyed my little home tour! Grab a cookie on your way out, and head on over to the next house on the list!

14 Responses to It’s the Christmas Tour of Homes!

  1. Becky says:

    Your home looks great! And I think I took all the cookies…what are those, they look delicious! Thanks for letting us in! Merry Christmas!

  2. amanda says:

    i know this is a christmas bloggy tour, but I LOVE the art you have on the walls!! 🙂

  3. ChupieandJ'smama says:

    Your home looks so warm and pretty! I finished the cookies that Becky left (she didn’t leave much:D). I love the stocking that says “Cats love Christmas too”. Cracked me up. Have a very Merry Christmas!

  4. Adventures In Babywearing says:

    Those look too yummy to be just cookies! What are they!?

  5. Jane says:

    Hi, lovely job of decorationg the standard apartment. I share your longing for a real front door to decorate. My door is peach, not too good for Christmas! I about posted a whole bunch of Christmas books yesterday, but I see a new one by your Nativity. I am curious!?

  6. The NewDotFamily says:

    :0) Thanks, y’all! I need to put the recipe up, they are really simple and they are delicous.

    Thanks Amanda – we did most of our wall art ourselves, with the exception of a couple of prints. The piece you can see above the bookshelf is my husband’s version of a “Mondrian.”

    The “Cats Love Christmas” stocking is, appropriately, hanging on the door to our storage closet (which is where the poor kitties have to stay at night ever since the 3 a.m. scare I got when I reached into the crib to pick up NDB and felt a hunk of fur instead!!!)

    Jane, the book behind our Nativity is “How Many Miles To Bethlehim?” by Kevin Crossley Holland. The text is what I would call advanced – it’s sort of abstract and poetic – I would not have expected my Kinders or First graders to “follow” it. But the illustrations are beautiful, and I love the fact that Mary, Joseph, and Jesus actually *look* Middle Eastern. It’s a nice change from the blonde-haired-blue-eyed stereotypical Christmas picture in so many kids’ books.

  7. Mrs. Chicken says:

    Your first christmas was in 1980?

    Please. Someone kill me.

  8. Ju-No says:

    Can I get a mennorah put up for when we visit? Maybe a dreidel to play with?

    You do want to be hospitable, yes?

  9. Susanne says:

    Your Christmasy home is very inviting! Merry Christmas.

  10. NewDotMom says:

    Mrs. Chicken: Sorry, yes, the truth is out – I’m a relatively young mama. :0) If it makes you feel any better, NDD’s first Christmas was 1979. At least that’s the 70’s, right!?

    Juno: Oh, just you wait. The multicultural merriment will knock your socks off!

    Thanks, Susanne!

  11. Sarakastic says:

    Love the door knob idea! Can I have another cookie?

  12. Kelli says:

    I love all the decorations on the door handles, what a great idea! Your tree is beautiful and those cookies look delicious! Thanks for having us over!
    Kelli

  13. Carol says:

    How festive and fun! Thank you for sharing with us.

    Merry Christmas!

  14. Barbara H. says:

    I am slowly making my way through BooMama’s tour. 🙂 Everything looks great, and those cookies look scrumptious!! We have a similar decoration of 3 snowmen on each other’s shoulders — reminds me of my 3 boys.

    My tour is buried under other posts here.

Leave a Reply

