A Cry For Help

I believe it’s time to ask for a little constructive criticism. I haven’t been blogging for very long, but I am greatly aware of my inadequacies. There are bloggers out there with thousands of visitors, and hundreds of regular commenters! There are bloggers who apparently understand how to bend the space-time continuum and find the time to be mothers, wives, workers, housekeepers, chauffeurs, AND writers, on a consistent basis. There are bloggers who post daily (or very nearly daily, when the NaBloPoMo push isn’t on) and they always have something valuable to say! There are bloggers who actually understand more than the mere tee-tiny basics of HTML, so they have beautiful designs and clever visual goings-on that draw their readers in.

So we’ve pretty much covered what I’m not accomplishing here. But I wonder if I am accomplishing anything? Through the wonders of the NaBloPoMo randomizer (another feat of computing that stuns me) I stumbled into Google Analytics, and it tells me that there are actual readers out there… about 12 or 13 a day, lately. Please, if you’re reading this, come out and tell me what you think. I don’t moderate my comments, so be honest – and your honesty will appear here, live & uncensored. What do you think is working here at www.new.mom? What sucks? What needs a little tweaking? What turns you off? If you’ve been here before, what made you come back (because Google tells me that someone around here is a repeat visitor…)?

When I was in college, I always learned the most about my writing, and the writing process in general, by getting feedback and criticism from other writers – especially those who were my obvious superiors. As my superiors in the virtual ether, I’m asking for your help.

3 Responses to A Cry For Help

  1. Courtney says:

    I am one of your new readers, fresh from the NaBloPoMo randomizer. My website/blog is still an unpublished work in progress, so I am, by no means, in a position to critique! However, I wanted to “peep,” to tell you how much I have enjoyed your blog so far. I am a new mom, myself, and I am oddly fascinated by the things that other new moms are dealing with. I’ve saved you to “favorites,” and have been reading every morning.

  2. The NewDotFamily says:

    Oh, thanks! It’s so nice to know that someone is out there. 🙂 You’ll have to post again when you get your blog up and running so I can return the favor 😉 It’s always easier to write when you know that someone is reading, I think.

    I know what you mean about feeling ‘oddly fascinated.’ That’s how I got started blogging, too. I was reading dozens of mommy blogs, simply for that little Aha! moment of recognition, when you see your own face in someone else’s words. And before I knew it, I felt like I had something to say too.

  3. MarillaAnne says:

    hey … i can’t read right this second … but i’ll be back in the morning.

Leave a Reply

