Accentuate the Positive

With the holidays coming up, I’ve been thinking about our family members. Every family has its problems, wierdos, idiosyncracies, and foibles. One thing I don’t like about myself lately is that I tend to focus on the negative things – the things that drive me BONKERS about our extended family. I certainly don’t want the NDB to pick up on that. I have great memories of my aunts, uncles, and grandparents as a kid, and I want him to have the same type of experience. So today I have been mulling over my NaBloPoMo entry and I want to challenge myself to come up with a list of something positive about each family member, something that I like or admire or am thankful for in them. Let’s see how it goes.

My mom is supportive and helpful. She calls me when NDD is working overnights because she knows I get lonely and restless around Hour 17 Alone.
My dad is the smartest man I know, who consistently and selflessly put his family first and still makes time to let us know we are important to him.
My brother has become one of my great friends. I love that we can call each other and talk for an hour with lots of laughter and fun.
The Mother-in-law raised my husband to be a bright, caring, affectionate, sensitive man.
The Highschooler sister-in-law is a sunny, exuberant, happy kid. It’s actually hard to believe that she has gotten any older than the 10-year-old she was when NDD and I started dating.
The Adult sister-in-law has managed to create a career out of a temporary job, and ignored everyone who told her she’d never get anywhere without a college degree.
The Brother-in-law (ASIL’s husband) is a hard worker, and he is unapologetic about who he is. He doesn’t try to pose or name-drop, and he has the most down-to-earth, good-ol’-boy country accent I’ve ever heard.
The Father-in-law is so proud of my husband, he can barely stand it. And he is absolutely over-the-moon in love with the NDB.
The Stepmother-in-law is compassionate and sweet-natured. She is a great listener and has a real ability to put people at ease in awkward situations.
The Stepsister-in-law is unexpectedly pregnant with the NDB’s first cousin! She is very happy about this baby despite the flack she is getting, and I’m proud of her for standing up for herself and her child.

Okay, a few of those probably are a little bit, behind-the-veil, snarky on the inside. But I really did try.

Leave a Reply

