More With the MommyBloggerLove

I read a lot of mommy blogs. Have I mentioned that before? I started small – with that well-known, well-written, well-publicized mom who is on everyone’s blogroll. She’s sort of my gateway drug for mommybloggers. I started clicking on her links, and branched out to about a dozen blogs. Soon, I decided to go searching for blogs that were written by moms with whom I had more in common. I started searching for breastfeeding mom blogs, Christian mom blogs, cloth diapering mom blogs, homeschooling mom blogs. (As an aside, I am a bit aghast at myself when I look at all these labels. But aren’t we all trying to find our little niche, our tribe, our place in this world? And how else do we find others like us, unless we start with adjectives and go from there?)

I love the writings of Barbara Curtis, over at MommyLife. She talked about another mom awhile ago, and I just recently had the chance to read about the journey of Regina Doman. As Barbara writes,

Regina is a Catholic homeschooling mother who is also an author. Last summer she
lost one of her six children in an accident in her church parking lot when he
somehow got out of their van and she ran over him. Word of the family’s
faith-filled response had reached several counties over…

Regina and her family have created a website in memory of their son, Joshua Michael, who lost his life in that accident. Her eulogy brought me to tears, and the amazing testimony of how God’s people responded to them with an outpouring of love, financial support, and practical help is beyond words.

My prayers are with them, because I can’t get her words out of my mind. We have to treasure our time with our little ones – we never do know how much time we’ve been given.

NewDotDad is a cancer survivor. We got engaged in college, and he was diagnosed with testicular cancer during our engagement. He had one surgery immediately, and a second surgery a month later. During that exploratory surgery, they discovered that his cancer had spread to his abdomen. We chose to move our wedding date up, and married two weeks after I graduated (he had graduated 6 months earlier) so that we would be together during his chemotherapy treatments and so that we could seize the days. Our honeymoon was short, and close to home. We returned to the usual flurry of thank-you notes and settling in, but we also had to coordinate transportation to treatments and deal with the nausea, hair loss, and exhaustion of chemo. It was not a pretty way – an easy way – a romantic way – to begin our life together. But it was real, it was important, and it was a true expression of our love. When we spoke our vows, surrounded by family and friends, every ear in that church knew the truth behind our words “in sickness and in health”, and every eye shed a few tears. I hope that we reminded those around us to cherish each other, and I hope that we never become complacent to that lesson in our own lives.

Leave a Reply

