One Hundred Things

  1. I have time to kill. It’s a Saturday afternoon – my husband is post call (read: he sleeps the sleep of the dead!) and my baby is napping.
  2. I hated my middle name so much as a kid that I lobbied for permission to change it for YEARS.
  3. Finally solved that problem by dropping it when I got married, and taking my maiden name as my middle.
  4. Yes, everyone *does* sing the Beatles song at me/to me at some point.
  5. I like it.
  6. I even wanted to make it a theme, name my kids names like “Penny”, “Jude”, “Elenor” and “Sgt. Pepper.”
  7. Just kidding about that last one.
  8. I’ve always been a churchgoing girl, for as long as I can remember.
  9. I was brought up Southern Baptist, then I did a brief stint as an Episcopalian, and now I’m United Methodist.
  10. Don’t tell my dad, but I’m intrigued by and attracted to Mormonism. I’ve met quite a few LDS friends online and I’m fascinated.
  11. I even have a bookmark to the online version of the Book of Mormon.
  12. My dad is a Southern Baptist minister. He’d probably shoot me for reading it.
  13. I have one son, born February 3, 2006.
  14. I want to have five kids.
  15. My husband thinks two will be challenging enough.
  16. I’m not-so-secretly hoping that after the second, we’ll get a surprise pregnancy and twins.
  17. There are no twins on either side of the family, so the odds are in my husband’s favor on this one.
  18. I was a public school teacher for five years.
  19. Pre-K, Kindergarten, 1st, 1st, and 3rd.
  20. Pre-K was my favorite.
  21. I only attended public school for five and a half years my entire life.
  22. I was homeschooled for five and a half years.
  23. I went to a tiny private school for one year.
  24. I know it doesn’t quite add up – I skipped first grade, so that’s the missing year.
  25. In high school I was on the flag corps.
  26. I loved the sequins.
  27. I use Secret deodorant.
  28. I like their new commercials.
  29. That’s not why I use it though – I have been a loyal customer for about 10 years.
  30. I can’t find hair products that deserve that kind of loyalty though.
  31. My hair is naturally sorta curly – but now that it’s long it has given up and switched to halfheartedly wavy.
  32. I have blue eyes, which I love, and brown hair, which I finally love again.
  33. I went through a period of trying out other hair colors.
  34. I tried every hue from a nice light reddish brown to a purpley brown-almost-black to so-many-highlights-you’re-almost-totally-caramel-blonde.
  35. Turns out, my natural color actually brings out my eyes and is a lot cheaper to maintain.
  36. I adore getting pedicures.
  37. French, please.
  38. The last time I had one was before the baby was born.
  39. I used to make fun of those moms who stopped taking care of themselves.
  40. I hate to admit it but I think I’m turning into one of those moms.
  41. I am pretty crunchy for my circle of friends – but compared to people I “know” online, I’m barely granola at all.
  42. I breastfeed.
  43. Yeah, I know he has teeth.
  44. I don’t plan to stop breastfeeding any time soon.
  45. Some of our extended family members think it’s gross.
  46. My husband finally said to me, “Don’t worry about it; you are doing what it best for our son, and you know that and I know that.”
  47. I fell a little more in love with him when he said that.
  48. I cloth diaper.
  49. No, the poopy ones are not horrible.
  50. Yes, disposables DO SO stink. Take a break from them and then use ’em again. You will gag.
  51. I make most of my son’s baby food.
  52. I don’t eat out of cans every day, so why should he?
  53. We co-slept in the beginning, and I would’ve kept going.
  54. What with the busy, important, “I save lives every day” job, my husband’s need for baby-free sleep won out.
  55. That’s okay, you gotta do what works for the whole family.
  56. I wear my son in slings, front packs, and asian-style carriers.
  57. I don’t ignore his cries and attempts to communicate.
  58. I believe that he is a happy, calm, curious, smart baby because of the way I respond to him.
  59. Even though I’m a bit non-mainstream, there are some bridges I won’t cross.
  60. I wear real shoes.
  61. I *adore* makeup.
  62. I shave. Thank God for whoever invented the multiblade razor and yummy smelling shaving gels.
  63. We are not poor, starving artists.
  64. Fall is my favorite season, hypothetically.
  65. I have never lived in a place with a real autumn before.
  66. So far, I’ve lived in Panama (Canal Zone), Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, Texas, Oklahoma, and now Tennessee.
  67. I really wouldn’t mind if I never see the rest of the world.
  68. I married a guy with a big travel bug.
  69. So I will probably get pulled all over most of the globe at some point in our lives.
  70. I don’t speak another language.
  71. I took two years of French in high school, and I even got nominated for the Governor’s Honors Program in the subject.
  72. Now I remember all of a dozen words.
  73. When we lived in South Florida I picked up a little Spanish.
  74. Sientate means sit down.
  75. This is useful in a classroom.
  76. Yo soy embarazada does NOT mean I’m embarrassed.
  77. It means I’m pregnant.
  78. This is useful in so many arenas.
  79. When I found out I was pregnant, I did not think of any clever or cute ways to tell my husband.
  80. I just called him at the hospital and told him there were two lines on the stick.
  81. He was very calm about the whole thing.
  82. Next time, I think I will try to surprise him. Or at least elicit a big reaction.
  83. I want a new car.
  84. The car I drive is a 1997 piece of crap.
  85. It was beautiful at some point.
  86. Now it leaks and the windows don’t work and the paint is bubbling off.
  87. I am embarrassed to drive it.
  88. I am double-jointed.
  89. I’m a good singer, but I don’t read music.
  90. I used to play piano, and I wish I’d stuck with it.
  91. I’m a great cook, and I really enjoy cooking and baking.
  92. I have always dreamed of writing the Next Great American Novel.
  93. I started writing the beginnings of novels in sixth grade.
  94. Over the years I have probably started dozens of “novels.”
  95. I have never finished one.
  96. In fact, I have never taken any of them past a third chapter.
  97. The one I started in college might actually have a little potential.
  98. I haven’t written anything more complicated than a blog post since my son was born.
  99. I don’t believe in Mommy Brain – but I do believe in Mommy (utter lack of) Time.
  100. One day I will make time to write “for real” again.
2 Responses to One Hundred Things

  1. Karen says:

    Here I am, reading the archives.

    I was reading your answer about why you stopped co-sleeping and had to giggle.

    You know that my husband is a physician, right? And that we’ve been through med school, residency, fellowship, and now private practice together?

    Now, he’s not busy “saving lives” (because he’s an oncologist) but I do get “People are dying!” as an excuse for why various things can’t happen the way I want them to. After 10 years it makes my eyes roll right back into the middle of my head.

  2. Mamacita! says:

    I’m enjoying your blog today. I also have people sing a Beatles name song to me – but I think it’s a different one than yours. Mine is more obscure…starts with a J.

Leave a Reply

