Special Delivery

I don’t know if I have the words for my gratitude tonight. But I have to try.

This evening, I got a BIG box in the mail. It was a package from a friend who lives in New Jersey, a friend I met online and who I’ve never even seen in person. We have a lot in common…. Teaching, bedrest during pregnancy, husbands in medical school & residency. I’ve enjoyed getting to know her much better over the last six months or so, and we laugh about mentioning “MyfriendC–” and “MyfriendM–, youknowfromonline” to our respective husbands and getting a similar “you gotta be crazy” reaction from them. I really hope I’ll get to meet her, and her husband, and their two little boys, sometime soon. I count her a good friend, and I’ve been so lucky to have her perspective and advise during this pregnancy. A few weeks ago, she told me she’d been going through the boys’ stuff and had found a lot of clothing they don’t need anymore…. And would I send her my address because she wanted to pass it on. (There is a very funny story here about automated helplines at the USPS, but I’ll spare you.) I don’t know what I expected exactly, but I was so happily surprised.

There were TONS of clothes. Many are new, with tags still on! There are things from newborn sizes up to 6-9 months and bigger. There were little shoes (ah, so cute!) and hats and blankets, and nursing pads she never used and some of the VERY LOVELY Mustela products (if you’re not a big Babies’R’Us shopper, let me tell you that these are some of the yummiest baby & mommy things out there. They smell wonderful and come very well reviewed) like massage oil, diaper cream, cleansing lotion, and baby wash. I sat in the middle of my living room, pulling things out of this beautiful box and just cried.

Yes, we all know I’m hormonal. And those teeny tiny clothes (the little Ralph Lauren bear bib-over-all-thing!!! the Very Hungry Caterpillar romper!!! the lime green set with the polka dotted onesie!!!) really grab that estrogen and work it for all it’s worth, so that’s a part of it. But a much bigger part is the fact that I feel so blessed with this friendship, that a woman who I only know through our computers can reach out and do something so nice, so caring. I’m humbled and happy and thankful.

One day I hope I’ll be able to do something for her. Or for the next new mommy I meet. But I know, for sure, that I’ll never forget how this gesture made me feel. She’s my angel for this week of grumpiness and sleeplessness and feeling sorry for my big ol’ self…. Merry Christmas, my friend. May God’s best come to you and your family this year, and please know that you’ll be in my prayers. You’re the best!

Leave a Reply

