Cruising Into The Third Trimester

My third trimester is officially here… and as much as I like to believe I’m a unique creation, I’m feeling every textbook effect. Heartburn? Got it. Aching ribs? Oh, yeah. Sleeplessness? Zzzzz… I mean, check! Losing my breath? Yup, that too. Breasts producing colostrum? Holy cow (hee hee!), they sure are!

It’s… well, this is the part that everyone doesn’t tell you about. They commiserate with your first trimester complaints and tell you how much better you’ll feel in the second. What they don’t say, is that you’ll soon feel like you’ve either been hit with a Mack truck, or like you’ve become a Mack truck, in the third!!! I’m trying to keep my complaints to myself, because if I use up my husband’s sympathy now, there will be nothing left by 36 weeks when (I hear) I’ll get REALLY miserable.

At my ultrasound yesterday (a perk of having a rare genetic abnormality & preterm labor symptoms is that I see a perinatologist every month and get a look at baby-to-be, who is in great health and shows no signs of inheriting my chromosomal glitch) the tech said that The Kid weighs about 2 lbs, 13 oz. This is one hefty boy! He’s within the “normal range” for this gestational period, but he’s on the high end of normal. Four weeks ago, he was 1 lb, 5 oz… so he’s more than doubled already! We had a serious conversation last night about how he can’t keep up that pattern… if he did, he’d weigh 22 lbs, 8 oz at full term!!! 😛 From what I’ve been reading, at this point babies tend to gain about half a pound a week… which puts The Kid at about 8 lbs, 13 oz if we go all the way to 40 weeks. That sounds about right. Even though I was a SMALL baby (5 lbs, 5 oz) his dad is a big guy so I’m not expecting a tiny boy!!!

Leave a Reply

